The Cell

        Why me I call out to the darkness

And echoing halls as I cling to the bars

In despair how have I come to be here

Where are the notions of fairness and

Right how can this be so in all goodness

And might for surely any man grown would

Do those things I’ve done.

 

The Road

         Why me I asked in the silence between

The flash and the fall all else beyond the barrel

Of the gun was a blur and yet there I stood clearly

Deep within mine own thoughts of how it had come

To this

 

The House

      Why me I looked into her eyes the question not

Having to be spoken direct from mind to mind baby

In my right hand gun in my left I point it at me I point

It at her

 

At Work  

      Why me I should have asked but instead I did as I

Was told for not to do so would should could be

Construed as any way you’d want to with your

Manipulation of words calmness undisturbed

As you’d protest how uncomfortable every

Spoken word would make your wall of lies

 

The Shop

         Why me this fool looks disturbed not

Uttered a word that makes any sense and

Here he is on the defence feeling violated

In some way. Do I give him a speech or try

To retreat avoiding what comes this way

 

The Dream

         Why me am I able to see when I close

My eyes at night distant roads so called close

Calls so real that I wake up with fright in my

Veins breathing in pain for the sake of what’s

Wrong or right for in my dreams I have become

You

 

Why Me